VFCast! Season 4 Episode 9: Swashbuckling and THE FEELINGS

Title: Daredevil: Volume 1(Marvel Now!)
Author: Mark Waid
Artist: Paolo Rivera, Marcos Martin
Publisher: Marvel Comics (Marvel NOW!)
Release Date: August 8, 2012

3355197-5122957882-Dared

I’m enjoying showing you the worst costumes in comic movies/tv shows. I’ve watched these things; had to have my eyes burned, now you do too! Also I’m going to, as I do exactly 37% of the time, talk about something that is not the podcast itself in the podcast write-up.

I am convinced that if you make a comic book movie but are embarrassed by  subject matter that your are “inspired by” you cannot make the best version of the film. This principle extends to all parts of the undertaking. If you are making a Superman TV show with a “no flights, no tights” rule, when you actually get around to having costumes, they won’t be great.

The same problems exists, I think, for the Daredevil movie. We know that tights based costumes can look rad, and Daredevil had a nice budget, so I think we can safely blame creative choices for how silly Affleck looks in the costume.

Hollywood: Stop giving adaption contracts to teams that dislike the thing they are adapting. Fans do it better.

The music for this episode of Vestrymen from the Future! is used under a Creative Commons licence. This week, we feature The Heavy – “How You Like Me Now?” and The NSJ Crew – “Swagger”. Intro music is “Action Figures” used by permission from Masai.

This entry was posted in VFcast! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment